Asia has two different kinds of scheme: savings-tested or low-threshold permits that any passport can try (Thailand’s DTV, Malaysia’s DE Rantau, Sri Lanka, Indonesia’s E33G, Dubai, Kazakhstan) and narrow ones limited by nationality or income (Japan, South Korea, Taiwan). Stated income floors run from USD 24,000 a year (Malaysia, tech talent) to about USD 80,000 (Thailand LTR); Japan asks 10 million yen a year. Stays run from 6 months (Japan) to 5 years (Thailand DTV validity, 180 days per entry). Checked 28 and 29 Sept 2026; several official hosts blocked automated readers, so blanks are marked.
The table
| Scheme | Income as stated | Stay | Government fee | Processing | Insurance | Who can apply |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Thailand DTV | No income figure; THB 500,000 in savings (GBP 12,000 on the London page) | 5-year visa, up to 180 days per entry, one 180-day extension | Set per embassy: GBP 300 (London), SGD 500 (Singapore) | About a month at Kuala Lumpur; apply 21 to 30 working days ahead | Not mentioned on the pages read | Any passport, at an embassy |
| Thailand LTR, Work-from-Thailand Professional | USD 80,000 a year averaged over 2 years (BOI LTR site); lower band USD 40,000 to 80,000 needs extra documents | 5 years, extendable 5 more | THB 50,000 if collected in Thailand; more at an embassy | 20 working days for endorsement | Health insurance; travel insurance not accepted; USD 50,000 for hospitalisation | Employer and income conditions |
| Indonesia E33G | USD 60,000 a year; 3 months of statements with at least USD 2,000 | 1 year, extendable online | IDR 7,000,000 in total | 5 working days after payment | Not stated on the page read | Foreign employer or company required |
| Japan | JPY 10 million a year | Up to 6 months; not extendable per embassy checklist | Not read (embassy pages blocked) | Not read | Cover of JPY 10 million or more | Only a list of designated countries |
| South Korea workation F-1-D | About USD 75,400 a year, twice the 52.42 million won GNI per capita (Seattle consulate); Los Angeles states USD 66,000, see the record | 1 year, one extension | USD 45 for US citizens; varies | 3 to 4 weeks (Seattle) | Over KRW 100 million cover | 18+, employed by a foreign firm for a year |
| Malaysia DE Rantau | USD 24,000 a year (tech) or USD 60,000 (non-tech) | 3 to 12 months, one 12-month renewal | MDEC RM1,080 per applicant, RM540 per dependant; immigration pass fee extra | 6 to 8 weeks | Required | All nationalities except Israel; Peninsular Malaysia and Labuan |
| Philippines (status unclear) | “Sufficient income”, no amount found | Up to 1 year | Not found | Not found | Required | Executive Order of 24 Apr 2025; implementing rules not confirmed |
| Taiwan | USD 40,000 a year (age 30+) or USD 20,000 (20 to 29); or USD 10,000 average balance | Not stated on the page read | Separate consular schedule | About 2 weeks (Manila office) | Required | Visa-exempt nationalities only |
| Sri Lanka | USD 2,000 a month | 12 months, renewable | USD 500 a year for the applicant, same per dependant | Not stated | Required | 18+, no local employment |
| Kazakhstan Neo Nomad B12-1 | USD 3,000 a month, 6 months of statements | Up to 1 year, extendable 1 more | KZT 117,960 (private site only) | 5 working days | Whole visa period | Not stated |
| Dubai virtual work | USD 3,500 a month | 1 year, extendable | AED 200 plus 5% VAT | 48 hours expected | Required | Any passport; six-month statement rule reported by secondary sites, not on the GDRFA page |
Figures are as printed and unconverted. Fees for Japan and Taiwan, and duration for Taiwan, are open gaps: the official pages either blocked automated readers or leave them to a separate schedule. Thailand’s LTR figures are read from the Board of Investment’s own LTR site (ltr.boi.go.th).
How to choose
- Easiest official route on paper: Thailand’s DTV asks for savings and documents, not an income threshold. Read the per-embassy fee table and timeline first.
- You earn under about USD 30,000: Malaysia’s tech-talent floor (USD 24,000 a year) and Sri Lanka (USD 24,000 a year equivalent at USD 2,000 a month) are the lowest stated figures in Asia. Compare with the world ranking.
- Longer than a year: Thailand’s LTR (5 years) is the outlier and carries a much higher income and insurance bar.
- Passport limits: Japan and Taiwan restrict by nationality; Malaysia excludes one country. Check before you pay a fee.
- Tax: Thailand counts 180 days; Malaysia 182; South Korea and Taiwan 183 days. See the tax residency table, and the insurance matrix for what “insurance required” means for a plan.
Method
Built from the tracker records checked 28 and 29 Sept 2026, each from the official page linked in it. Unreadable hosts (Japan MOFA and embassy PDFs, Taiwan’s NDC, Thailand’s e-visa portal, Philippine government PDFs) are listed in the tracker’s GAPS file. Wording is paraphrased and unconverted. Re-read every 30 days.
What changed and when: the dated nomad visa change log.
