Visa tracker
Digital nomad visa tracker
55 schemes in 53 countries (48 open), each with the official page it rests on. Last full check 2 Oct 2026. Updated monthly; every change goes in the public change log.
- 55
- schemes tracked
- 48
- currently open
- 53
- countries
Showing 55 of 55 schemes. Amounts are shown in the source currency; no conversions.
| Country | Scheme | Status | Income or savings rule | Duration | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Albania | Open | 32,000 ALL per month; or 300,000 ALL savings | Up to 1 year the first time, for an alien legally staying in Albania (Art. 68, repeated on the MoI page); Type D visa shown among the documents. Renewal fee is stated (2,250 lek) but renewal limits are not | ||
| Antigua and Barbuda | Closed | not stated | Not verified from a primary source; programme discontinued | ||
| Argentina | Open | not stated | 180 days, extendable for an equal period (translated) | ||
| Aruba | Open | not stated | 1 week minimum to 90 days maximum | ||
| Bahamas | Open | not stated | Annual residence permit expiring 12 months from issue | ||
| Barbados | Open | 50,000 USD per year | Maximum 12 months | ||
| Belize | Open | 75,000 USD per year | Maximum 180 days per travelbelize.org (six months per search excerpt) | ||
| Bermuda | Open | not stated | One year; renewal not specified | ||
| Brazil | Open | 1,500 USD per month; or 18,000 USD savings | Stay of up to 1 year (translated) | ||
| Bulgaria | Open | 53,850 BGN per year | Permit valid for one year, renewable once (translated) | ||
| Cabo Verde | Unclear | not stated | Not stated on page | ||
| Cayman Islands | Closed | 100,000 USD per year | May enter and work remotely for a period not exceeding twenty four months; at least 90 days aggregate physical presence in any year | ||
| Colombia | Open | not stated | Visa validity up to two years (translated) | ||
| Costa Rica | Open | 3,000 USD per month | Extends a 90-day tourist stay to one year, renewable for one additional year, per Costa Rica Tourism Board page | ||
| Croatia | Open | 3,622.5 EUR per month; or 43,470 EUR savings | Temporary stay up to a maximum of 18 months | ||
| Curaçao | Open | not stated | 6 months, extendable for a further 6 months | ||
| Cyprus | Open | 3,500 EUR per month | One year, with renewal for a further two years | ||
| Czech Republic | Open | not stated | Czech MFA long-term visa page for business purposes: a long-term visa can be issued for a maximum of one year. The programme page itself states no duration; this is the general long-term visa route the programme leads to | ||
| Dominica | Open | 50,000 USD per year | Visa stamp issued on arrival, valid up to 18 months; approved applicants have 90 days to enter Dominica | ||
| Ecuador | Open | not stated | Up to 2 years (translated) | ||
| Estonia | Open | 3,960 EUR per month | D visa may be issued for up to 365 days within twelve consecutive months | ||
| Georgia | No scheme | not stated | Visa-free stay of one full year for eligible nationals (georgia.travel visa page); this is the entry regime, not a nomad permit | ||
| Germany | No scheme | not stated | Residence permit for self-employment issued for a maximum of three years | ||
| Greece | Open | 3,500 EUR per month | National visa valid up to 12 months; a 2-year residence permit can then be applied for in Greece (workfromgreece.gr, EY Greece, taxheaven.gr, law text). Since 5 Feb 2026 (N5275/2026, per workfromgreece.gr) the permit can no longer be applied for while in Greece on a tourist visa or visa waiver | ||
| Grenada | Unclear | 100,000 EC$ per year | Valid for a period not exceeding one year | ||
| Hungary | Open | 3,000 EUR per month | Maximum validity one year | ||
| Indonesia | Open | 60,000 USD per year | Stay of 1 year (translated); visa itself valid 90 days from issue to enter | ||
| Italy | Open | 24,790 EUR per year | Permesso for digital nomads issued for one year (as stated in 2024 on the consulate page) | ||
| Japan | Open | 10,000,000 JPY per year | Stay up to 6 months; visa valid 3 months from issue, single entry | ||
| Kazakhstan | Open | 3,000 USD per month | Multiple-entry visa valid up to one year | ||
| Kenya | Open | not stated | Issued for one or two years, renewable | ||
| Latvia | Open | 4,213 EUR per month | Long-stay visa for one year | ||
| Malaysia | Open | 24,000 USD per year | Pass valid 3 to 12 months, renewable for a further 12 months | ||
| Malta | Open | 42,000 EUR per year | Initial permit valid one year from issuance of the residency card | ||
| Mauritius | Open | 1,500 USD per month | Valid for a period exceeding six months up to one year and renewable; issued for 1 year to applicants abroad, day 1 starts on arrival in Mauritius | ||
| Mexico | Open | 4,630 USD per month; or 78,025 USD savings | Stay of more than 180 days and less than 4 years (translated) | ||
| Moldova | Open | not stated | Granted for the requested period, not exceeding 2 years | ||
| Montenegro | Open | not stated | Permit valid up to two years, extendable up to two further years | ||
| Montserrat | Open | 70,000 USD per year | 12 months (1 year) | ||
| Panama | Open | 36,000 B/. per year | Up to 9 months (translated) | ||
| Philippines | Unclear | not stated | Up to one year, multiple entry | ||
| Portugal | Open | 3,680 EUR per month | The temporary residence authorisation for remote professional activity (art. 88 no. 1 'Digital Nomads', issued in Portugal after the D8 visa) is valid two years from issue and renewable for successive three-year periods (AIMA, translated) | ||
| Portugal | Open | 3,680 EUR per month | Temporary stay visas allow entry and stay for less than a year, multiple entries | ||
| Romania | Open | not stated | Not stated on the page | ||
| Slovenia | Open | not stated | Issued for up to one year, non-extendable | ||
| South Africa | Open | 650,796 ZAR per year | DHA checklist is headed 'Visitors visa section 11(1)(b)(iv) for prescribed activity of remote work (exceeding 3 months to 3 years)'; no single initial validity stated | ||
| South Korea | Open | 104,840,000 KRW per year | 1-year stay, multiple entry | ||
| Spain | Open | 2,442 EUR per month | Visa (art. 74 quater) has a maximum validity of 1 year; residence authorisation (art. 74 quinquies) has a maximum validity of 3 years and can be renewed for 2-year periods (Ley 14/2013 as consolidated on BOE, translated) | ||
| Sri Lanka | Open | 2,000 USD per month | 12 months | ||
| Taiwan | Open | 40,000 USD per year; or 10,000 USD savings | Visa duration not stated on the page read | ||
| Thailand | Open | 500,000 THB savings | Valid 5 years, multiple entry; up to 180 days per entry | ||
| Thailand | Open | 80,000 USD per year; or 100,000 USD savings | Permission to stay granted the first time for five years, extendable for 5 more years (BOI LTR site, Work-From-Thailand Professional) | ||
| Turkey | Open | 3,000 USD per month | Duration not stated on the page read | ||
| United Arab Emirates | Open | 3,500 USD per month | One-year extendable residence from issuance; entry stay granted 60 days initially | ||
| Uruguay | Open | not stated | Nomads may settle for six months, renewable once for 180 days (translated); Uruguay XXI (state agency) page |
Data: CSV · JSON, free to reuse with a link back (CC BY 4.0).
Download the dataset on GitHub
Method
Scope. National digital-nomad / remote-worker residence schemes, one record per scheme. The target of ~50-60 open schemes was not reached: 55 records, of which 46 are marked open. Countries where no official page could be reached are listed in GAPS.md rather than guessed.
Canonical source. This folder is the single source of truth: the site reads nomad-visa-tracker.json, METHOD.md, GAPS.md and CHANGELOG.md from here at build time (sites/nomadterminal/src/lib/tracker.ts) and serves the CSV/JSON downloads from it. src/data/visas.json is legacy and is not the tracker.
Wave 1 (2026-09-29). 55 records validated against schema.json (jsonschema, 0 errors). Secondary (law-firm or relocation) pages appear only in secondarySources and their field text is prefixed "[secondary]".
Sources. Government, embassy, consulate and official immigration or tourism-authority portals only. Every fact field carries a source URL; sources lists every page used. Law-firm pages appear only in secondarySources. The old Nomad Terminal visas.ts and guides were used only as a checklist of scheme names, never as data.
Values. Amounts are stored exactly as stated, in source currency and period. No currency conversions are included in this version, so no exchange rates apply. Text is paraphrased or translated (marked "(translated)").
Nulls. A field is null when the official page does not state it or could not be read. A null is not a statement that the requirement does not exist.
Status. open = an official page seen on the check date describes a currently available scheme; unclear = pages conflict or are unreadable; closed/none = official statement or absence, noted in statusNote. Some status values rest on pages that do not date themselves; re-check before publishing as fact.
Known weaknesses. Several records rely on search-result excerpts of official pages or tourism boards because the primary host blocked automated access (see GAPS.md). These should be re-verified in a browser before publication.
Compilation. Research was split across five parallel Sonnet research agents by region, merged by script (deduplicated by id, sorted by country), and checked for schema key completeness. Full JSON Schema validation was not run (validator not installed).
Re-check cadence. Monthly for fees, income thresholds and status; immediately on any reported change. Log each change in CHANGELOG.md.
What is not covered yet
Checked 2026-09-29 (wave 1 sprint; earlier per-region logs from 2026-09-28 kept below). Every field listed below is null in the dataset because no primary source could be read or the official page does not state it. Nothing was filled from memory or from the old site.
No record yet (no official page reached, not confirmed as absent): Poland, Lithuania, Armenia, Iceland, Norway, Seychelles, Namibia, Chile, El Salvador, Dominican Republic, Vietnam, Cambodia, Oman, Bahrain, Uzbekistan, Abu Dhabi, Saint Lucia, Jamaica, St Vincent, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos, Anguilla, St Kitts and Nevis, Egypt, Morocco. Added 2026-09-29: Greece, Slovenia, Bulgaria, Albania, Georgia, Serbia, Moldova, Mexico, Peru, Grenada, Cayman Islands. Not confirmed as absent; see the omitted list below. Blocked hosts: several .my/.hr/.kr/.gov.br hosts.
- Germany record has status
none, inferred from absence on the pages checked, not from an official statement. - Panama, Belize, Cyprus, Philippines, Czech Republic status
unclearor mostly null. - Brazil and Japan/Korea/Philippines partly rest on search-result excerpts of official pages (pages blocked or behind captcha); treat as needing re-verification.
- Ecuador fee: 320 USD on the page fetched, another excerpt said 460; unresolved.
- Costa Rica figures come from the tourism board (visitcostarica.com), not immigration.
- Thailand DTV fee null (only per-embassy fees confirmed).
- Wave 1 (2026-09-29) covered Europe (Portugal, Spain, Italy, Estonia, Croatia, Hungary), the Americas and the Caribbean/Africa records and added 11 records. Asia records (Thailand, Indonesia, Japan, Korea and others), Latvia, Czechia, Cyprus, Germany, Romania, Montenegro, Malta remain as before: the research runs for those were cut short and are still to do.
- Brazil rests on search excerpts of gov.br pages (blocked host); Hungary fee is inferred from the general permit fee; Italy income differs between consulates.
Change log
- Wave 1 completion sprint. 46 to 57 records: added Greece, Slovenia, Bulgaria, Albania, Georgia, Serbia, Moldova, Mexico, Peru, Grenada and Cayman Islands. Filled null fields for Portugal, Spain, Italy, Estonia, Croatia, Hungary, the Americas set and the Caribbean/Africa set; statuses for Panama and Belize settled. Details: - portugal-d8-residence-visa: minIncome.amount null -> 3680 EUR/month (4 x RMMG 920 EUR for 2026 per DGERT; computed, visa page states only the multiple) - portugal-d8-residence-visa: duration.initialMonths null -> 24 (AIMA: temporary residence permit valid 2 years, renewable in 3-year periods) - portugal-d8-residence-visa: healthInsurance.required null -> true (general travel insurance in residency document list) - portugal-temporary-stay-remote-work: minIncome.amount null -> 3680 EUR/month (4 x RMMG 920 EUR for 2026; computed) - portugal-temporary-stay-remote-work: healthInsurance.required null -> true (general travel insurance in temporary-stay document list) - spain-international-teleworker: taxTreatment.text null -> special regime for relocating workers (IRNR-style option, 6 tax years), AEAT - spain-international-teleworker: governmentFee.text expanded with full 2026 nationality table; amount left null (varies by nationality) - spain-international-teleworker: minIncome re-verified unchanged (2,442 EUR/month; SMI 1,221 EUR for 2026, RD 126/2026) - italy-digital-nomad-remote-worker-visa: governmentFee.amount null -> 116 EUR (Paris consulate; varies by consulate) - italy-digital-nomad-remote-worker-visa: processingTime.text null -> varies by consulate (30-90 days remote workers, 120 days nomads) - italy-digital-nomad-remote-worker-visa: minIncome conflict noted in notes (24,789 vs 25,500 EUR), value unchanged - estonia-digital-nomad-visa: taxTreatment.text null -> 183-day residency test (EMTA, e-Residency FAQ) - estonia-digital-nomad-visa: dependants.allowed null -> true (spouse, minor child, dependent adult child may apply) - croatia-digital-nomad-temporary-stay: taxTreatment.text null -> income of digital nomads exempt from taxation per Tax Administration 2021 changes page - hungary-white-card: governmentFee.amount null -> 110 EUR (consulate residence-permit fee; HUF alternatives in text) - malta-nomad-residence-permit: no field changes; income threshold and status re-confirmed - Brazil: e-visa from 1 Sept 2026 noted, fee varies by consulate, insurance, processing (excerpts only) - Argentina: fee 32 UMSM (1 UMSM=$1000), TIE 24H, where to apply - Colombia: SMMLV 2026 COP 1,750,905 basis, tax residency rule - Costa Rica: duration 12m+1yr, USD 50,000 insurance, income tax exemption per tourism board - Ecuador: fee 320 confirmed, SBU 2026 USD 482 - Uruguay: 6 months renewable once - Panama: settled open, B/.36,000/yr, 9 months, USD 250, insurance - Belize: settled open (BTB page); immigration site silent - New: Mexico temporary resident (Las Vegas 2026 sheet); Peru (unclear, legal status not operational) - antigua: closure re-confirmed from official notices page; PDF still 404; notes updated - aruba: taxTreatment filled from aruba.com (no Aruba tax, income paid by home-country company) - curacao: government ownership supported by curacao.com tourist board article; fee discrepancy ($294 vs ANG 535) noted - dominica: taxTreatment and healthInsurance source filled from official WIN FAQ - montserrat: taxTreatment (gov.ms) and duration source filled; income USD 70,000 cross-checked on programme site the-stamp page - mauritius: minIncome USD 1500/month (EDB FAQ PDF), dependants, duration filled - south-africa: minIncome now sourced to DHA PDF (R650 796); duration text from DHA heading (3 months to 3 years) - NEW grenada-remote-employment-act-permit from Act No. 3 of 2021 (status unclear) - NEW cayman-islands-global-citizen-certificate from 2023 Revision regulations (status unclear; deadline 31 Oct 2022, expiry 30 Nov 2024 unless extended) - slovenia-digital-nomad-temporary-residence: new, gov.si notice of 2025-11-21 - albania-unique-permit-digital-mobile-workers: new, Law 79/2021 Art. 68 (statute PDF) - bulgaria-digital-nomad-long-term-residence: new, State Gazette amendment + Council of Ministers service register (translated) - moldova-digital-nomad-right-of-residence: new, IGM and Invest Moldova pages - georgia-remotely-from-georgia: new, status unclear (past-tense tourism authority description, visa-free year) - serbia-digital-nomad-temporary-residence: new, status unclear (enabling clause only) - greece-digital-nomad-visa: new, mostly from search excerpt of mfa.gr page; needs browser re-verification
- Initial compilation, 2026-09-28. 46 records across 44 countries (39 open, 6 unclear, 1 closed, 1 none). About 63% of checkable fields verified from government, embassy or official-portal pages; the rest are null (see GAPS.md). Replaces the blocked earlier run. - 2026-09-29 audit: italy minIncome corrected from approx 27,000 to 24,790 (decree DM 29 Feb 2024 art. 3(1)(a): 3 x EUR 8,263.31 exemption level, Sistema TS); Tunis May 2026 sheet (says approximately 27,000, unexplained) kept as a consulate figure.
Using this data
The totals and charts are on the digital nomad visa statistics page. You are welcome to cite the tracker with a link to this page. Spotted a change? Send the official source and we will re-check the row.
Cite this
Data version 2026-10-02. Stable address: https://nomadterminal.com/visas/. Free to reuse under CC BY 4.0 with a link back.